Very Berry Breakfast Quinoa

When I’m going through a stressful time, I turn to food. Not the healthy, road to a well-balanced diet kind of food, but those sumptuous, creamy, covered in cheese kinds of foods. Growing up in an Italian neighbourhood, it means that my family (despite not having a single drop of Italian blood in us, as far as we know) learned to cook Italian food, and pasta became a staple item in our household. Since that’s not the healthiest lifestyle, I’ve tried to make healthier meals a part of my everyday diet.

Breakfast, one of my favourite meals, was the easiest to switch over. While I still eat treat myself to the occasional waffle, I’m normally more than satisfied with my egg white veggie omelettes or oatmeal. Today, I want to talk about one of my more recent favourite breakfast recipes: my Very Berry Breakfast Quinoa.

VeryBerryQuinoa

Since quinoa is full of protein and very filling, I was ecstatic when I learned it could be used for breakfast as an alternative to cereal and oatmeal. I tried Martha Stewart’s Breakfast Quinoa recipe a while back and I’ve been eating it ever since. Recently, when I tried to make it, I realized I was out of blueberries, and that’s when this recipe was born. It’s full of blueberries, raspberries and blackberry goodness. I’ve adapted the recipe to make it a bit healthier, but I’m never one to sacrifice taste. Without further ado, I present to you my recipe.

Very Berry Breakfast Quinoa:

Ingredients

2 cups Almond Milk
1 cup quinoa, rinsed
2 tablespoons light brown sugar
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 cup of frozen blackberries, blueberries, and raspberries (I used Radar Farms)

Step One:

Bring milk to a boil in a small saucepan. Add quinoa, and return to a boil. Reduce heat to low, and simmer, covered, until three-quarters of the milk has been absorbed, about 15 minutes.

Step Two:

Stir in sugar and cinnamon. Cook, covered, until almost all the milk has been absorbed, about 8 minutes. Stir in berries, and let simmer for 2 minutes, or until berries are heated through. The juice from the berries means that you don’t need to add additional milk or sugar for serving.

Hope you like it! Leave me a message in the comments if you’re going to try it, or what you thought if you did.

Until next time,

twenty-something-seeking-prada

2 responses to “Very Berry Breakfast Quinoa

Leave a Reply

